How to avoid jail time for not paying your tolls. You may already be in jeopardy…
First, let me say that this is a complicated issue. The fact that it is nearly impossible to speak to your state toll customer service agent doesn’t help.
This article will give you some valuable information.
But if you owe tolls don’t procrastinate and do take it seriously!
Backlogged E-ZPass & Video Tolls Now Posting
Video Tolls (Notices of Toll Due) that were delayed due to COVID-19 and Maryland’s transition this spring/summer to its new tolling system have resumed processing and posting.
The MDTA paused mailing Notices of Toll Due (NOTD) for drivers who used their toll facilities without E-ZPass between March and October 2020.
If you’ve traveled Maryland toll roads WITHOUT an E-ZPass or Pay-By-Plate account:
Video Toll transactions from July 2020 forward are being posted and available for payment.
You are encouraged to visit www.DriveEzMD.com regularly to see if Video Toll transactions for your vehicle have been posted to the system and are available for payment before a NOTD is mailed. Click on “Pay Tolls” and input the vehicle information.
If tolls associated with your vehicle are not in the system, stay tuned as they will continue to be posted additional Video Toll transactions online will allow customers to SAVE 15% (up to $5 total discount) if paid before the NOTD is mailed. Payments made electronically after the NOTD mailing date are not eligible for the early payment discount.
If you’ve recently moved, ensure that you receive your NOTD mailings by updating your address with your state’s Motor Vehicle Administration or Department of Motor Vehicles.
How do I know if I owe a toll in Maryland?
We encourage you to visit www.DriveEzMD.com regularly to see if Video Toll transactions for your vehicle have been posted to the system and are available for payment before a NOTD is mailed. Click on “Pay Tolls” and input the vehicle information.
For More Information:
Visit www.DriveEzMD.com to submit a request for a Live Chat with a Customer Service Representative.
The Customer Service Call Center (1-888-321-6824) is open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Monday-Friday and Saturday from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. There is a callback feature to reserve your place in line without holding and receive a call back from a representative if the call center is experiencing a high call volume.**
How much is the toll penalty?
A letter called an ‘Unpaid Toll Notice’ will be issued to confirm this to the registered vehicle owner’s address. Should payment for the journey and late payment penalties remain outstanding 72 days later, a further late payment penalty of 104.00 is applied.
The E-ZPass, issued in many states along the East Coast and Midwest, works in connected states. Travelers from Maine to South Carolina, and as far west as Illinois, can pay all their tolls with the same electronic toll collection system.
Where can I pay my toll violation?
You can pay your violation on the Toll Violation page of the website. The Toll Roads app or tear off the bottom portion of the notice and send a check for the amount due to: The Toll Roads Violations Dept., PO Box 50190, Irvine, CA 92619-0190.
The SunPass website says:
The SunPass portable transponder costs $19.99 plus tax and the SunPass Mini Sticker transponder costs $4.99 plus tax (all out-of-state customers must pay a flat 6 percent sales tax). Transponders are available online at SunPass.com and all authorized SunPass retailers. Both units allow motorists to have tolls electronically deducted from a prepaid account.
The West Coast
Even for short visits to the Bay Area, sign up for a FasTrak account. FasTrak allows you to use Express Lanes, qualify for carpool and bridge toll discounts, cross toll bridges without having to stop at the toll booth, and even pay for parking at the San Francisco International Airport (SFO). And, FasTrak works across California. Your FasTrak toll tag operates anywhere you see the FasTrak logo displayed, including the toll roads in Southern California.
Can you go to jail for not paying tolls?
In New Jersey, this is a serious felony theft offense. The amount of the unpaid tolls is allegedly $88,000. Anything over $75,000 is a second-degree offense in New Jersey which is punishable by 5-10 years in prison. Also, a 2nd-degree crime has a presumption of jail time even if the defendant has no prior criminal record.